Why was I born?

The Thinker by Rodin
The Thinker by Rodin-second cast in the original cast and signed by Rodin himself. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Why did God create me? According to the Old Baltimore Catechism it was to know, to love and to serve God in this world and to live happily with Him in the next. The profound questions of life were answered in that book.

If you were to ask Mary that question, she might answer that her soul was here to magnify the Lord and make manifest His Son to the world.  Jesus might answer I came to reveal the Father and to glorify Him. He who has seen me has seen the Father.

Do we see our life’s purpose that simply? As Christians our calling is to make Christ manifest to the world. Do we magnify Him, make Him easier for the world to find? If someone has seen us, have they seen Jesus?

It doesn’t have to be done through preaching, it can be done through our lives. Honestly, most of our lives don’t shout the love of God to people. God help us.  At our judgment we will be held accountable not only for what we did but also for what we failed to do.  What a gaping chasm that is.

A few years ago, I found this wonderful prayer.  It is called the prayer of daily neglects.

Eternal Father, I offer thee the Sacred Heart of Jesus, with all its love, all its sufferings and all its merits. First–to expiate all the sins I have committed this day and during all my life (Glory Be…)  Second–to purify the good I have done badly this day and during all my life (Glory Be…) Third–to minister for the good I ought to have done, that I neglected this day and during all my life (Glory Be…)

Amen.

#advent #why was I born? #prayer of daily neglects #trcot #tcot

Leave a Reply

